Sunday, 19 February 2012

Explain why some people do not understand the concept of Postmodernism.

Postmodernism, the rejection of Modernism, churned out with the mixing of cultures, catches the eye of many, yet, at the same time Postmodernism is despised by others. This is quite often due to the severe contradictory nature that comes with Postmodernism, and also because of it's ability to purposely make something that's 'bad', just so it meets the criteria. I, myself am not hugely enthusiastic about the diea of being a Postmodernist, although, on occasions I partially agree with a few of it's elements.

A large part of Postmodernism that people struggle to get their heads round is, and come to terms with is the idea of 'Pluralism', this is the theory that Jean Francois Lyotard, that we have given up the idea of grand narrative, and that everything is the same, and nothing is unique anymore. In my opinion, this arguements is covered in flaws. Answer me this, how can two television shows such as The Office and The Mighty Boosh follow the theory of Pluralism? The former is based on the day to day goings on in a working office, and the latter is based inside a hyped up, exaggerated, created universe, adopting plot lines that could not take place in reality. Yes, they are both commercially produced shows to provide entertainment for it's viewing public, but that does not mean that you can label these shows the 'same'.

Whilst in discussion over The Mighty Boosh, Fielding and Barrett heavily use another Postmodern element within their work, that people do not understand, this is Hyperreality, which is easiest defined as 'Accepting something for what it is', and The Boosh is an ideal way to show this. When you watch The Mighty Boosh, you are taken into this extraordinary land, then when we see Vince Noir dressed up in his extravagant pieces of clothing, that when you see anybody else dressed up in that fashion, you utter the words 'Gimp', or more explicitly 'T***'. However, when you see Fielding, you see it as being very natural, and don't think much of it, in other terms, 'You accept it for what it is', Furthermore you rarely see/hear anybody refuse to watch The Mighty Boosh due to the fact it challenges realistic experiences.

'Homo with a Shotgun', terrible name, plot line, acting, setting, oh, the list goes on. Yes, I believe it is a horrendous film, however, I doubt the creators of the film would be terribly offended by my remarks, as it's a Pastiche towards other action films, mimicking them. I agree with the homage, showing your inspirations by paying respect to them in your pieces of work, but really, what is the point of going to extreme lengths to produce a 'bad' film, just to mimic others? I really don't think it has a valid point.

Finally, I do understand that people do not agree with concepts of Postmodernism, I don't myself, I do believe methods such as paying homage work well. Although, I believe many Postmodern judgments are naive, as well as contradictory, plus too narrow minded to take other views into account, clarifying that I won't be becoming a Postmodernist anytime soon.

Note: I was about to discuss Derrida's theory of Bricolage, but I ran out of time.

No comments:

Post a Comment